Nancy Dasher Book Award


The Nancy Dasher Award, given by the College English Association of Ohio (CEAO), recognizes outstanding publications by faculty members from a CEAO-member department in one of three areas each year: professional and pedagogical issues, creative writing, and literary scholarship and criticism (including theory). The 2022 award will be in the category of  Literary or Rhetorical Scholarship and Criticism .  All books published during the calendar years published 2018—2021 are eligible for nomination.

Please note that CEAO is the only higher-education English association in Ohio and an affiliate of the College English Association. As such, we wish to honor the work of Ohio creative writers.

Requirements: The work must be authored by an Ohio resident, peer-reviewed, and published between 2018 and 2021 by a reputed press. A quality scholarly or creative work, it must provide an original contribution to the field; edited anthologies do not qualify. On-line publications will be handled on a case by case basis.

Nomination Procedure: The chair of each member department that has paid its CEAO dues for the academic year 2021-22 may nominate one or more books by members of his or her faculty, based on department size. Departments with 1-10 members may submit one entry; 11-30 may submit two entries; 31-50 may submit three entries; and over 50 may submit four.  Additional submissions may be considered on a case by case basis. The CEAO membership dues form is available to download here: Dues Notice CEAO 2021-2022

Please send three copies of each nominated work to:
Dr. Bryan Bardine
Department of English University of Dayton
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469

Alternatively, submitters may send one physical copy and one electronic copy.

Please include a short cover note indicating that the books are to be considered for the Nancy Dasher Award.

Deadline for receipt of nominations: March 1, 2022.

The Nancy Dasher Award is announced formally at the annual Spring Meeting of CEAO.